WHO presents its awards to individuals and institutions for their “extraordinary contribution to public health”.

The World Health Organization (WHO) awards awards to individuals and institutions around the world for their “outstanding contribution to public health”. On 25 May 2023 in Geneva (Switzerland). – WHO


The 76th World Health Organization (WHO) held in Geneva (Switzerland).

“The awards honor individuals who have made significant contributions to global health and whose work goes far beyond the call of duty. At a time when the world is facing many challenges, each is a source of inspiration and a reminder of the progress that can be made. WHO Director-General Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus said in a statement. to improve,” he said.

The seven award winners come from four WHO regions: the Americas, the Eastern Mediterranean, Southeast Asia and the Western Pacific. Five individual winners and three women. In addition, the two institutions that received the 2023 award are run by women.

The Nick Simons Institute from Nepal and Professor Vichai Tienthavorn from Thailand won the Sasakawa Health Award. The Nick Simons Institute is a nonprofit organization whose aim is to improve healthcare in rural Nepal. Tienthavorn is the head of the Praboromarajchanok Institute of the Thai Ministry of Public Health.

The United Arab Emirates Health Foundation Award went to Maria Asuncion Silvestre from the Philippines, the founder of Kalusugan ng Mag-Ina (Mother and Child Health), a non-profit Philippine Government organization advocating exclusive breastfeeding.

His Highness Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah Research Award in Health Care and Health Promotion for the Elderly was awarded to the China National Center for Chronic and Non-Communicable Diseases Control and Prevention; and Professor of epidemiology and dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences at the American University of Beirut (Lebanon). Big sister Mehio Sibai.

The LEE Jong-wook Memorial Award for Public Health went to Jorge Francisco Meneses of Guatemala, who, after over 20 years of promoting community involvement in hospital care, formed community committees focused on the safety and satisfaction of patients, their families, and others. society.

The Nelson Mandela Award for Health Promotion went to Mariam Athbi Al Jalahma of Bahrain. In addition to being the Director-General of Bahrain’s National Health Regulatory Authority, she has held various leadership positions in government and academic institutions in her country.

Source: Noti Merica

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles