Alexia Putellas, finalist for ‘The Best’

Archive – Alexia Putellas with her Ballon d’Or 2022 – FCB – Archive

MADRID, 10 February (EUROPE PRESS) –

Spanish midfielder Alexia Putellas will opt to win her second FIFA Best Player award after being nominated as one of three finalists for the award alongside England’s Beth Mead (Arsenal ) and American Alex Morgan (San Diego golf).

The FC Barcelona player, current winner of the last two editions of the ‘Ballon d’Or’, something no one else had achieved, could repeat last year’s double if she wins this recognition again, which her would help become the first in history to also win it twice.

Despite a serious injury to her knee ahead of the 2020 Euro Cup, the Catalan once again certainly proved to be the most differentiated footballer in Europe, leading FC Barcelona to the national treble and to another Champions League final, a tournament of which she was the top scorer with 11 goals.

Alexia Putellas will once again face England forward Beth Mead, who is also currently recovering from a serious knee injury. The Arsenal footballer was key for England to win the 2022 Euro Cup for the first time last summer. Completing the shortlist of candidates for the award is American striker Alex Morgan, currently in the San Diego Wave of the US NWSL and runner-up in the 2019 edition.

On the other hand, the Spanish midfielder of FC Barcelona Aitana Bonmatí did not get through this first cut, which was left out along with Debinha (North Carolina Courage), Jessie Fleming (Chelsea), Ada Hegerberg and Wendie Renard (Olympique). Sam Kerr (Chelsea), Vivianne Miedema and Leah Williamson (Arsenal), Lena Oberdorf and Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg) and Keira Walsh (Manchester City/FC Barcelona).

Source: Noti Merica

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles